Username Post: Question regarding prizes/giveaways and budget        (Topic#2019)
K2theninja 
Attendee
K2theninja
Loc: Helena MT
Reg: 01-19-11

01-19-11 10:35 PM - Post#8189    

I'm not sure if this question has been asked before, as I did not find anything related to it in any of the other posts for First Year Assistance. I'm relatively new in the Convention staff scene, I helped staff my first convention last year (it was relatively successful with about 200 attendees). But this year I am assisting with 2 new first time conventions, as well as helping with a cosplay picnic event that the first convention I helped out with is putting on. Being new to this kind of job, I'm pretty sure I'm breaking some unspoken Convention rule about supporting a Con out of your own pocket; but I really want these Cons to be successful, so I have spent the last 6 months or so, prior to assisting these conventions buying small trinkets (like keychains and pocky) as well as some 'bigger' items to used as giveaways during anime trivia challenges, contests and during the opening and closing ceremonies. My question to the more experienced Guest Relations Leads, are what is the 'average' percentage of a Con's budget, would you say typically goes into this sort of activity, when you don't have Industrial SWAG, or sponsors to offset the cost?

On a side note,I have also emailed several Voice Actors for support with autographs and been fairly successful in that endeavor, as a way to make the Cons better for attendees, (since there is no budget for Industry guests yet) and I figure with an average retailed price of $5 per autograph, by the time the Cons roll around, I'll have brought in between $200-$300 worth of autographs for each Con I am working with(I have to be impartial, since I am the Guest Relations Lead for both Cons).
Industrial Liaison Lead for MT anime conventions 2011

Sugoku Con Cosplay Picnic 2011 (Canceled; Prepping for full Con in '12')
Nagu Con (August 19-21?)