Username Post: Do your co-workers/classmates know that you cosplay?        (Topic#2526)
EllyStar 
New England Con Whore
EllyStar
Loc: Massachusetts
Reg: 06-24-07

01-30-12 01:40 PM - Post#10143    

How well known is your hobby among colleagues and classmates? Or non-fandom friends for that matter?

I didn't really get into cosplay until after I graduated college, but when I first started I didn't tell my co-workers at my job that I cosplayed, or even that I went to cons. I was always "visiting friends" which was technically true. Then over the next few years, I opened up and told people where I was going and even started showing them pictures of my costumes. It was a small company with about 15 people, and they all thought the costumes I made were really beautiful and well made.

Then when I was hunting for a new job last spring, I had an interview and it ended up coming up. Because it was a laid back company, I didn't feel out of place talking about it (one of the owners came into my interview wearing a Zelda shirt). I ended up getting the job, and pretty much everyone knows that I cosplay. A lot of people I work with are pretty geeky and a few attend cons once in awhile, but none cosplay. I might convert some XD
Elizabeth: Website and Podcast Writer
My Conventions

Nigoki 
Obsessed with robots
Nigoki
Reg: 02-25-09

01-30-12 04:45 PM - Post#10144    
    In response to EllyStar

My coworkers know I go to cons, so I occasionally I get asked. I tend to choose an answer based on how they ask me. If its clear they're going to be very judgmental, I lean toward "Well I staff the big one in Boston so even if I wanted to, it'd get in the way of my work"